PAGING THE BRAINS AT DISNEY: Doc Ellis’ 1970 No-Hitter Pitched on LSD Comes to Animation

PAGING THE BRAINS AT DISNEY! This should be your next summer blockbuster.

That brains at No Mas, and their wonderfully creative sports people, took the time to make an AMAZING animated video based on the 1970 no-hitter thrown by Doc Ellis. A game which lives in infamy since it’s Ellis’ claim that he was high on LSD when he pitched during this game.

This is WELL WORTH the 4 1/2 minutes of watching and I salute the brains behind this youtube clip.

Ellis said, recalling the game years later,

“I can only remember bits and pieces of the game. I was psyched. I had a feeling of euphoria. I was zeroed in on the (catcher’s) glove, but I didn’t hit the glove too much. I remember hitting a couple of batters and the bases were loaded two or three times. The ball was small sometimes, the ball was large sometimes, sometimes I saw the catcher, sometimes I didn’t. Sometimes I tried to stare the hitter down and throw while I was looking at him. I chewed my gum until it turned to powder. I started having a crazy idea in the fourth inning that Richard Nixon was the home plate umpire, and once I thought I was pitching a baseball to Jimi Hendrix, who to me was holding a guitar and swinging it over the plate. They say I had about three to four fielding chances. I remember diving out of the way of a ball I thought was a line drive. I jumped, but the ball wasn’t hit hard and never reached me.”

Ellis had a running list of bizarre behavior throughout his Major League career. Yes, in addition to throwing a no-no while high on LSD. Including in a 1974 game against the Reds, trying to hit every batter in the Big Red Machine lineup to “prove a point” to teammates. Ellis was once sprayed with mace by security at Riverfront Stadium in ’72, for picking a fight with several security guards.

His 1970 no-hitter inspired several songs about him, including “Dock Ellis” by indie rock singer Barbara Manning, “America’s Favorite Pastime” by folk singer Todd Snider, “Dock Ellis No-No” by Chuck Brodsky, and “LSD (The Ballad of Doc Ellis)” by Boston rock band Random Road Mother (thanks Wikipedia for that info).

One thought on “PAGING THE BRAINS AT DISNEY: Doc Ellis’ 1970 No-Hitter Pitched on LSD Comes to Animation

Leave a Reply

