Coach of winning team in 100-0 win, fired

Micah Grimes, the coach of a Texas high school basketball team that beat another team 100-0, was fired Sunday, after refusing to aplogize for his team’s winning performance.

Grimes offered this in response to the school apologizing for winning 100-0,

“In response to the statement posted on The Covenant School Web site, I do not agree with the apology or the notion that the Covenant School girls basketball team should feel embarrassed or ashamed,” Grimes wrote in the e-mail, according to the newspaper. “We played the game as it was meant to be played. My values and my beliefs would not allow me to run up the score on any opponent, and it will not allow me to apologize for a wide-margin victory when my girls played with honor and integrity.”

If Micah Grimes has half a brain, this man would hire a top notch agent, and become an advocate for tougher surroundings for today’s children. What I mean is, he should be the guy on Dr. Phil and all the other unwatchable day time shows, preaching the importance of dodgeball or the importance behind NOT allowing every single kid who participates in an activity to receive a trophy win, lose or draw. I smell a book deal and some cross country tour in the works.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not supporting beating up children- but I am supporting the fact that such nonsense as giving every child a trophy is not what today’s children needs. I’m no child therapist, but I do know that creating an environment where everybody wins and nobody fails isn’t fair to a child, especially when the the first time he suffers failure comes at the age of 23. Nurturing is one thing, but creating a fairy tale environment for your kid till he or she hits the real world, is all but another thing. You can spoil your kid all you want, but nothing is going to protect them from braces, Freshman Friday, acne, and the social deflation that is high school. Nothing will protect them from heart break, failing to meet expectations, poor grades, or being the butt of a joke amongst his classmates. It’s inevitable.

I played sports all my life, and never once did I win a trophy. My teams were never good enough, and I was never a stand-out. I never merited one. You know what I did about it? I toughened up, tried harder.  And even after all that I still never earned a trophy, and guess what? That’s life. You win some, and you lose some. Get up, dust yourself off, toughen up, and get back on the bicycle. Losing is part of life. Might as well get use to it sooner than later.

My opinion.

Leave a Reply

